Tricky Little Stitches

My Crafty Week So Far

 

Since my first blog was really an introduction to tell everyone a little bit about myself and what I make, I thought I would actually show you what I have been making this week . I hope to settle down into blogging once or twice a week, I don’t want to bore you all and scare you off with my musings, that’s not to say that I won’t be visiting lots of other blogs for inspiration and enjoyment.

When I opened my Etsy shop a few weeks ago one of friends suggested I make baby hats and I discovered a pattern for the cutest cupcake hat, here is my latest “flavour”, mint choc, in 0-3 months

ImageI I

I loved adding the bugle beads on to give the effect of sprinkles, and it was a good reason to order more for my stash.

Next I made a baby bonnet in a lovely “fan and feather” pattern and using a really pretty fuchsia coloured King Cole yarn. Again this is 0-3 months and once again I had to add some beads….

Image

and then my daughter Hannah who is a photographer,  suggested that I make a crown as a photography prop, I tried it with pearls first but on my second attempt I used crackle beads to produce a jewelled effect. I used Twilleys Goldfingering yarn to knit the crown and it was a little difficult at first but I’m pleased with the result

Gold Crown with Jewels

and my final piece of finished work is another hat, this time a newborn baby boy helmet, knitted in white double knit and contrasted with a navy pompon and navy buttons

Baby Boy Newborn Helmet

 

and my work in progress is a 0-3 month baby jacket in baby blue and a lovely twisty pattern, again double knit…

Baby Boy 0-3 blue twisty jacket

 

And my final work in progress is quite pathetic…hardly worth showing, can you guess what it is yet?

Cross Stitch

 

Well that’ all so far this week, I’ll show you my progress later on in the week, I’m sure I’ll have lots more on the go by then as I just can’t stop buying yarn and beads, but that’s another story…

You can see some more of my creations in my etsy shop at http://www.etsy.com/shop/Trickylittlestitches

 

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “My Crafty Week So Far

  1. That cupcake is so sweet and I love the crown too- look forward to seeing your updates.

  2. Thanks Cathy, I’ve made the cupcake in several different “flavours” so far.

  3. Hi Kal another super post from you and wow what a lot of fab knitting, just adore the crown simply sensational ! You have been very busy I see and the cross stich teaser is intriguing can’t wait to see the reveal !!!
    Marie

  4. thisisthecraftyone on said:

    Wow, you’ve been busy! I love the crown 😀 And the little hats are adorable!

  5. My goodness, you’ve been busy! I love the baby bonet … what a gorgeous colour.

  6. Hello Karen
    I visited from Marie – what a heartwarming post she wrote. Anyway I had to visit her sister 🙂
    In awe of your immense talent. The cupcake is so cute and that little crown. Bravo to you for picking up those needles again. Wishing you the absolute best.
    Lynne

    • Thank you Lynne, I never thought I was crafty at all and then I realised that my knitting is quite creative, what a plonker I am!
      Marie has been a great support and her cardmaking leaves me awestruck. I wish I had the talent you ladies have…

  7. How did you make that cherry on top?

Leave a comment